The Smallest Acts

1

For the past month, I have been trying to be more consistent about making good food choices and exercising.  A new walking trail just opened close to my home and I was inspired to take my daily walk on the path.  To keep me committed, I started placing goofy smiley face stickers on my calendar every time I completed a workout.  I know it sounds a little childish; however, this little ritual has helped me stay committed to getting out of bed or ending my day with a walk/run.  After looking at my calendar for May, I realized that I actually was in the process of creating a habit.

We often try to create a habit or make a decision by the way we feel.  Most people make a decision by waiting to feel like doing something, then taking action and then making the decision.  This is how I typically would approach my workout.  I would wake up in the morning and think about if I felt like working out.  If I felt like working out, I would get up (the action) and then decide to walk or run.  In my research, “The Theodora Effect”TM, I looked at people who were considered positively deviant.  This meant that they were the top 1-5% performers. I was interested in what set them apart from other leaders.  In Peter Voogd’s book, 6 Months to 6 Figures, he also looked at the 5%.  Peter believes that these people approach their decisions/habits differently.  This special group of people make a decision to do something, then act and then acknowledge how they feel.

It is in that small act that you can create a habit.  You can be unreasonable in your choice to change your life.  Each moment is an opportunity that you can decide to lead with confidence, love more deeply, make healthy choices or forgive.  Right now in this moment you can change your professional career with one small act.

What small act will you do today?

With love & wonder,

Angela

About The Wonder Loft
Want to lead more confidently at work?  Think you have what it takes to get promoted but don’t want to sell your soul to get there?   Click below to learn why being “good” could be holding you back from your dreams.
The Wonder Loft Introduction Video 2

The Wonder Loft Introduction Video 2

Go to http://www.thewonderloft.com to learn more about private coaching, free leadership tips & inspiration or sign up for a free Get Acquainted Session.
About Angela
6_

Angela Joyner is a leadership coach, speaker and author.  She founded The Wonder Loft, LLC coaching practice for women.  Angela is passionate about changing the face of corporations globally, helping women lead with confidence and living with intention. Through her private coaching, fireside chats, and workshops, Angela shows women (and a few good men) how to navigate the corporate environment and get promoted at work.

Leave a Reply

