Leaving a Legacy for Girls

Image

Many children around the world do not have the opportunity to go to school. It is even more challenging for girls to pursue education, especially in global communities.  Many girls desperately want to attend school, however, their family obligations or socioeconomic situation can make that dream pretty remote. 

Many children around the world do not have the opportunity to go to school. It is even more challenging for girls to pursue education, especially in global communities.  Many girls desperately want to attend school, however, their family obligations or socioeconomic situation can make that dream pretty remote. Unfortunately in many communities, providing an education to young girls is not a priority. I have always had a passion for education and learning. I cannot imagine what my life would have been like if I did not have the opportunity to attend school, read fiction books, or further my education via graduate school.


I have become very passionate about helping girls around the world get an education. Over the past year, The Wonder Loft, LLC has contributed to initiatives like 10X10 and Girl Child. Last fall, along with several other gracious women in my business mastermind group, I had the extraordinary opportunity to change the destiny of several girls’ lives in Africa. Together we chose to generously donate funds to support building a girls’ school in Kenya. Our goal was to raise $25K to build one school. I am deeply humbled and overjoyed to share that we raised over $125K! By surpassing our goal, we will be able to build five schools in Kenya! Construction for the schools will begin this summer, so I will keep you posted on the progress.

This past weekend I went to Los Angeles to celebrate with the Unstoppable Foundation in their efforts to provide education and clean water in Africa. Needless to say, this is a cause close to my heart and I am deeply honored to be able to participate in something so remarkable!

Coaches Challenge: What are you deeply passionate about? What resources do you have at your disposal that can be used to change the world?

 

Leave a Reply

